Filigree In Bloom

 I came to a realization the other day that part of me not feeling right lately probably has a large deal to do with the fact that I rarely just sit down and doodle for no reason anymore. I started playing around last night and the results have carried over into this morning.
A friend gave me a pen last night that I am enjoying greatly, making bold lines on the paper without bleeding through. Can you say “WIN”??

First piece is a mash-up of old school and new school rose/filigree styling. I like the outcome. I’m even more proud to say this was all original pen work, no pencil sketches this time. My fear has been rooted in permanence, somewhat. So ink seemed to be an appropriate method to challenge that problem with.

And this piece is me just playing more with filigree. I’ve been trying to use it more. I know I still have a long way to go but I feel that I am getting a grip on it, at least the basic principles.

I am working on a couple other pieces and have a painting in mind that I intend to start this week. Its a pretty basic idea, but at my current rate, it’ll be a nice leap forward.

Until next time πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “Filigree In Bloom

  1. The line-art style is more like and old school tattoo rose would be drawn, along with the spider web decor. With the extra decor and the way I would shade it, is where the new-school tattoo style would come into play. πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

