Musings : Gardening

I’ve been much better lately about getting in some art work, whether it is some painting or sketching, and I am glad to be back in the creative groove. I also picked up another hobby while waiting for my art funk to end. Gardening!

My mom has done her own garden for the last couple years, but this year she was not going to plant anything new. I was a little disappointed because I get a lot of my summer veggies from her house, but decided that I would just grow some of my own. I started some of my own plants (zucchini, bush green beans, basil, lemon basil), though some didn’t seem to want to come up (rosemary, cilantro). Despite no new seeds, my mom’s garden has exploded this year with “leftovers” from the last. I’ve been able to dig up some of her items and plant them in mine (sage, mint, chocolate mint, cilantro, marjoram, and parsley). I love having a little potted plant garden on my patio. I’d love to have them in the ground, but will take what I can get.

This long-winded post about my wee garden leads me to my current project. I’ve had some 8″x8″ gallery wrap canvases laying around and have been indecisive about how to use them. I don’t do a lot of “series” but have wanted to. I was sitting on the patio the other day trimming some of the herbs and that light bulb went off. I’m doing a series of herbs on these canvases! This series of 4 will include sage, mint, rosemary, and chives. The sage piece is finished, and the chives panel doesn’t have much farther to go.

So, my “escape” from my lack of productivity resulted in my new passion for gardening. Not only did it fill up my time until I got back on my feet, but now, I have fresh herbs to use in my cooking, and hopefully, fresh veggies soon!

Plant a garden if you are stuck! Worked for me 🙂

Leave a Reply

