Keeping Creativity Alive

I’ve visited a few forums and blogs that have asked the question, “what do you do to keep your creativity up?”. So often, I really couldn’t answer that. For a long time, my inspiration came from the influx of crazy dreams that I had for nearly a year or so. After a while, I stopped dreaming entirely, but that’s a post for a different day.

Once my dreams began to elude me, I had to turn to other ideas. I’ll discuss a few things I derive inspiration from.

Leonardo Da Vinci

I have a serious love/hate relationship with this man. I’ve read enough of his stuff side by side to find contradictions in his beliefs, even if both statements make equal sense in their own rights. From full paintings to technical sketches, to his pages and pages of writing, I’ve never walked away from something from him without being inspired to do something. Granted, that something may be to rant for a couple hours about his contradictions (I’ve written 10 page letters to friends over the whole issue).

THE FREAKING LIBRARY

I don’t know why more people don’t go immediately to the library when stuck. I ask myself that too, since I was stuck for months and it just didn’t occur to me. Books on art, art history, new styles, reference books, art therapy, or just a great fiction, its just a big free goldmine of ANYTHING you’d want to know. And I mean everything. I’ve found books that have certainly put a “…why the hell would someone write about this” look on my face. Sometimes in a bad way, haha.


Movies/Documentaries

This is connected to the library item, as well. I can rent out movies for a week, and if you know me at all, you know that I do not make theater visits frequently. At all. Currently, I have 5 DVD’s on my desk to watch this week, ranging from one I didn’t see in theaters to things I’d never heard of. Titles including The Dragon Painter, The Cats of Mirikitani, and 2 documentaries about Da Vinci (surprised?).

Online Challenges

WetCanvas does Scavenger Hunts in the Artwork from Life channel (though I rarely post my sketches, and I should) and I get a lot of ideas from that. IllustrationFriday is a great source as well. If anything, its like a weekly assignment. Sometimes I treat it the same way I did tests/homework in school in regards to not doing one thing about it until you know…Thursday night, but the point is, that it gets done.

Those are just a few.

And, just like a magician, I have some of those sources that I do not disclose. We all have them 😉

I’m ALWAYS open to new books, movies, and online challenges, and am open to suggestions! Please let me know what inspires YOU!

Leave a Reply

