Hordes Miniatures : Circle Orboros

Most of the art that I associate myself with is 2D, but the intricate details associated with miniature model painting has recently ensnared my attention. Featured in this post will be my experience in painting miniatures for the first time, things I liked, disliked, and all in between.

As much as I love dark, towering mechanical things, I was more enticed by the factions of Hordes, rather than Warmachines, which features large robotic war groups. I intend to paint and lead a WM troop in the future, but for now, I’ll be sticking with more organic-looking models.

 A heartless band of druids stealing children in the night, or a familial belief bringing their own home?

However you look at them, Circle Orboros is a beautiful and fierce race in Hordes.
When a child is born with an affinity for the druidic ways, members of the Circle will claim the child and train them up in their ways. Everything about them tickled my fancy.
I waited and waited to purchase my miniatures. I wanted them for the right price. Eventually, I found a set on sale while on my most recent trip to Missouri, and was even more pleased to find that they were the metal models.

I won’t lie and tell you that my miniatures experience was peachy from the start. I disliked the assembly process. Maybe not so much the assembly as the glue that seemed impossible to remove from my skin once it made contact. After fighting with multiple layers of glue, spikes falling off, and torsos crumbling, I finally got everything to hold together.

Next step was priming. Looking back, I think I should’ve primed either in white or grey since my figures had more light colors than dark ones, but, you live and learn!

 I acquired special paint and bought brushes intended for miniature painting and set out. It took me quite a few layers to get the colors the way I wanted them. By the end of my painting experience, I had learned a lot more than I had expected to pick up. It is certainly not like painting on canvas.

Details, details. Eyes, fur, highlights and teeth. I was amazed at how much work really does go into each and every one of these models. My appreciation for artists who pour their lives into model painting has grown tremendously through this process.

I was shown YouTube videos on painting tips for eyes and the final black wash that I used. The wash made a huge difference, I was very surprised, but pleased.

I used glue and terrain from a hobby store to give them bases on which to stand. I might add a rock or two in the future to them, but for now I wanted to leave the detail in the models themselves, rather than where they stood.

I had moments where I wanted to just drop the models altogether, there are people who play the game with unpainted models.

Yet, as an artist, I couldn’t proceed like that. I know all too well that one needs practice, patience, and persistence to be successful in anything one takes on.

I am pleased with the outcome of my first miniatures, both in assembly and painting, and I can only hope to improve from here. I hope to expand my Circle Orboros group, and when I do I will be sure to add another post with the new additions.

If you’d like to see more about Warmachines, check out a post that my husband wrote about his Khador unit.

Interested in more information on miniature painting? Check out these links.

MiniWarGaming
Miniature Eye Painting Tutorial
Youtube Video – Paint Basics : How to Wash
Hordes

Hordes and Warmachine are games produced by Privateer Press.

(All photos presented were assembled and painted by Kae Hutchens)

Leave a Reply

