Drawing Challenges and Experiments

I decided I needed some inspiration with my sketching and decided I’d do a search for drawing challenges on Pinterest and do the first one that came up. I was thinking like…A SUBJECT, but the first image was a 30 day drawing challenge. Well, I set myself up for that one. Here’s my progress so far:

day 1 yourselfDay 1 : Yourself. I also challenged myself that I wouldn’t scrap anything I started but would make it work no matter what. You can probably see a sketch I started underneath that I didn’t like. However, I really liked the raw style that came out here.

day 2 fav animalDay 2 : Favorite animal. Cat, duh. I like purple a lot and it is alive and well in most things I do lately. So, here’s a cat.

day 3 fav foodDay 3: Favorite food. I debated this one. Sushi? Steak? Seafood? Roasted veggies? I came back to the super glue of all foods, the thing that can make just about anything taste even better : bacon.

day 4 fav placeDay 4: Favorite place. Lately I really enjoy being lost in a book with a hot cup of tea or hot chocolate. It may not really be a “place”, but it is somewhere I enjoy being, because I visit so many places within pages of a book. The style of this piece was much more subdued than the days before (and the day after). I was kinda in a funk. But I committed to myself that I was going to do this challenge : can’t punk out on day 4.

day 5 best friendDay 5: Best friend. My husband is my best friend. He makes me laugh, comforts me, supports me, and occasionally drives me crazy, but I love him all the same. I really wanted an excuse to draw him in his epic dwarf beard, so this seemed like the perfect opportunity. It really came out well, I’m really proud of this one.

That’s all for now folks!

Leave a Reply

