Inner Renewal – First Painting of 2016

I fall short so often when it comes to keeping up with this blog. I think what holds me back is my fear of expectation. However, the one I disappoint the most isn’t readers, it is me. I don’t believe in resolutions, and this would be a great time for one if I did. I am, however, doing an overhaul on my life and priorities that included a week long social media break at the end of 2015. It just so happens to be the right time for a resolution, but this has been in the works for a while.

inner renewal setup

I’ve had a picture in my head for about a week, and while I’ve pursued some other things (sketching, mostly), I hadn’t worked it out. I decided that today was the day to remove it from my head and leave it on canvas. I pulled out my painting stuff and just a varied selection of colors. I didn’t have a color scheme in mind, which is somewhat rare for me. But I knew I wanted contrast.

inner renewal wip 1

I’ve not done an abstract painting like this in a while, and I enjoyed the process and the flow. I forget how much I like abstract painting because while I may have a general idea in my mind, the brush frequently takes it in a new direction. It didn’t come out exactly as imagined, but the result was lovely to me.

inner renewal

I haven’t decided if I’m going to find a home for this piece in my personal collection or if I’m going to put it up for sale. It is relaxing and I love the cool colors. The white design was inspired by unalome pieces – they are designs that represent the path to enlightenment. I took the concept, made something of my own, and found it to be a beautiful representation of finding yourself, weaving your inner self into a new being, and finding peace. That can mean different things to different people, and I know what it means to me.

I’ll be sharing some sketches, hopefully more paintings, and a challenge from a small art group I belong to later this month. Thanks for sticking with me, here’s to 2016!

Leave a Reply

